Gluten Free Diet Restrictions

‘Gluten’ is one kind of protein found in the seeds of several food grains, including: Wheat, Rye, Barley, etc. It is a combination of two different types of protein termed
Gluten Free Diet Restrictions
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

‘Gluten’ is one kind of protein found in the seeds of several food grains, including: Wheat, Rye, Barley, etc. It is a combination of two different types of protein termed as ‘prolamins’ and ‘glutelins’.  Rice Prolamin as well as corn gluten does not harm Cealiac patients. On the other hand, wheat prolamins, barley prolamins, and rye prolamins cause autoimmune disorder in Celiac patients. To combat Celiac disease and maintain a good health – gluten free diet is recommended by many physicians. This article will help you with basic Gluten Free Diet Restrictions.

Gluten Free Diet Restrictions foods:

Some foods naturally contain gluten and some other foods are added to gluten during the cooking process. Various types of gluten foods have been described below:

Glutinous grains include:

  • Barley, barley malt.
  • Bran.
  • Bulgur.
  • Farina.
  • Kamut.
  • Orzo.
  • Semolina.
  • Spelt.
  • Wheat.

Flours and other ingredients containing wheat are glutinous food. These include:

  • Kamut.
  • Wheat Germ.
  • Durum Wheat.
  • Semolina.
  • Graham Flour.
  • Wheat Bran.
  • Triticale.
  • White Flour.
  • Spelt.

Any pasta is considered as glutinous containing: Farina, wheat or semolina. Wheat is an essential ingredient of many processed baked goods. These gluten foods include:

  • Pasta, pizza crust, pie crust.
  • Cake, cookies, muffins, pastries, cupcakes.
  • Bread, bread crumbs, bagels, sandwich buns, hot-dog buns,
  • Tortillas, lour Tortillas, crackers.
  • Cereal, oats.
  • Beer.
  • Couscous.
  • Gravy, dressings, sauces.

Meat and poultry are naturally gluten free. Nonetheless, the processing as well as cooking of the meat generally adds gluten. Such gluten cuisines include:

  • Breaded meat
  • deep-fried meats
  • Breaded chicken
  • Breaded veal meat
  • Hot dogs

Some other popular food might include gluten due to their cooking process, like:

  • bouillon
  • salad dressings
  • croutons
  • tortilla chips
  • imitation fish
  • rice-pasta mixes
  • tabbouli
  • candy
  • soy sauce
  • potato chips
  • canned soup
  • broth in soups
  • canned vegetables with sauce
  • gravies
  • hot dogs
  • french fries
  • matzo
  • fried foods

Gluten can enter in the diet through the following substances.

  • Food additives
  • Medications
  • vitamins

Gluten Free Diet Restrictions Cross-contamination in food

  • Cross-contamination takes place when gluten free foods somehow mix up with glutinous foods. It can occur both in home and restaurants during cooking process; if similar cooking utensils, tools, cooking surface are used in cooking both glutinous and gluten free food items. To prevent this unwanted situation, proper cleaning after cooking as well as usage of separate cooking utensils, tools for glutinous and gluten free food are strongly recommended.
  • In some cases, foods are not directly labeled as “Gluten free”. These foods need to be verified by asking the restaurant employee or checking the ingredient list.

Foods allowed in gluten free diet

Natural gluten-free foods include:

  • eggs.
  • fruits.
  • vegetables.
  • beans.
  • dairy products.
  • nuts.
  • seeds.
  • meats and poultry.
  • fish.

However, these foods are naturally gluten free until they are processed, breaded, coated along with glutinous grains or additives. Gluten free grains and starches include:

  • Rice.
  • Buckwheat.
  • Corn and cornmeal.
  • Gluten free flours (like, rice, potato, soy, bean, corn, etc).
  • Amaranth.
  • Tapioca.
  • Arrowroot.
  • Sorghum.
  • Quinoa.
  • Flax.
  • Hominy.
  • Teff.
  • Millet.
  • Soy.

Have a Question? Just Ask!

Like this post? Please share to your friends:
Leave a Reply